Skip to content

so if Sweden is the Saudi Arabia of feminism, what is Israel?

January 1, 2011

So anyway, one year I’d like to enjoy new years day without a hangover from hell. I thought I’d succeed this year. I had strategies! But my plans for glasses of water between each drink and sensible pacing flew out of the window. I am paying the price. CURSE YOU, CHAMPAGNE.

In other news, a former Israeli president was convicted of rape. This is kind of amazing.

Rapists are not convicted very often. Acquaintance-rapists are convicted even less. And acquaintance-rapists who are public figures are convicted, like never.

Also, from the article, the trial was “largely held behind closed doors to respect the privacy of the three complainants, all former subordinates.”

Well done, Israeli court.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 8:06 am

    Thank you for posting on this Mishka, I’ve been thinking the exact same thing. Why the fuck is an ex-head of state being convicted of rape not headline news?

  2. January 2, 2011 8:12 am

    I know right? Considering how much media attention is given to Berlusconi and his antics.

  3. January 2, 2011 8:16 am

    It’s almost like they don’t want to draw attention that any, and all men are capable of rape or something…

  4. January 2, 2011 11:34 am

    and that any and all men may be convicted of rape. And actually sent to prison and stuff. EVEN PRESIDENTS.

  5. SheilaG permalink
    January 2, 2011 6:54 pm

    LOVE THIS POSTER!! Let’s put it all over the place!!

  6. No Sugarcoating permalink
    January 2, 2011 11:07 pm

    I was also shocked when I heard this. First, I was shocked that an ex-President was convicted of rape, but then I thought, man in power raping women? Not THAT shocking. Then I was shocked that an ex-President was CONVICTED of rape. Is it unprecedented? I can’t think of a similar conviction. We also have to keep in mind that Israel has been receiving an increasing storm of criticism over the past few years, and they had to know this would have been a PR nightmare. The trial still went through, and achieved a conviction though. Compare this to the Assange case. He is an unofficial enemy of the state, and there may not even be a trial. It seems like Bizarro world today..

  7. January 3, 2011 1:54 am

    Yes, I cant think of another example either, and it may indeed be unprecedented. I dont actually know all that much about women’s situation (and the rape conviction rate) in Israel, except that it sucks, like everywhere else. I do wonder if there were other motivations at play re this conviction. I’d like to think this man was convicted simply because the women deserve justice and Israel recognizes this. Alas, I am too cynical for that.

  8. SheilaG permalink
    January 3, 2011 3:43 am

    Well I did hear that the court case was behind closed doors in Israel. And he may have had highly placed enemies, and he was an EX-president. But yeah, now that you all mention it, I have never heard of an ex-president of any country getting convicted in a court of law for raping women. Unheard of. So for whatever reason, congratulations Israel for doing the right thing! Maybe Saudi Arabia and Sweden can take a few lessons!!

  9. January 3, 2011 4:54 am

    If I remember correctly, it was because they were working for him, and it continued over an extended period of time? Not 100% on this though, so don’t quote me on it.

  10. SheilaG permalink
    January 3, 2011 7:24 am

    Yes, they were employees, and he had a history of sexual harassment, which people in the government knew about for awhile. No big surprise there.

  11. January 3, 2011 7:30 am

    Thanks Sheila. It’s really no surprise at all is it?
    I hope they fucking out all the rapists in government, everywhere. And seeing as most Western governments are made up of men, there will have to be a huge number of them who are rapists whether or not they are are aware of it.

Leave a Reply

